Blog It Up, Round #1

I’ve been meaning to start this blog for awhile now, ever since Desiring God Ministries posted an article at the end of March, entitled, “6 Reasons Pastors Should Blog.” Well, at first I figured, why post my thoughts to the internet instead of simply journaling them? Initially, reading that article caused me to start journaling more consistently and writing thoughts and insights out. Something I enjoy a great deal is to be able to look back at old journals and look back at thoughts or experiences, and learn from them. It’s so interesting to see how I reacted to various situations, what my thought processes where, and how that has affected where I’m at today.

After a phone conversation earlier today (and a few conversations in the past about blogs) with my dear friend Nick Stapleton, I decided that today would be the day I begin my own blog. I am convinced that by blogging I will be encouraged to think through ideas more thoroughly, engage topics, and grow in my ability to effectively communicate thoughts and views towards various matters. I’m always interested in growing, learning, and improving upon skills in any way that I can. If you’re reading this, hopefully something that is written will spark a thought or reflection for you, a better idea, or ‘spur you on to love and good deeds.’



Here’s a snippet of what the blogger intro says about blogging:

“…Since Blogger was launched in 1999, blogs have reshaped the web, impacted politics, shaken up journalism, and enabled millions of people to have a voice and connect with others.

And we’re pretty sure the whole deal is just getting started.”

I also recognize that since I will be graduating in June and (as of now) moving out of state, blogging will be a convenient way for friends to glance at updates of life and my current thoughts.


One of the reasons John Piper suggests for starting a blog is to write, which is definitely an area I want to improve in. The field and study of communication interests me a great deal (part of why I’m a communication major, right?). Communicating and understanding human communication is something that I want to continually increase my knowledge and skills in. Hopefully through writing this blog, and who knows, potentially through dialogue and critiques, it will help me improve the quality and effectiveness of my writing, speaking, and thinking.



As I mentioned, I’m a big fan of journaling. Journaling out thoughts, prayers, hopes, thoughts on decisions or potential decisions, tidbits of wisdom I’ve received, quotes and just about anything else that you can write down. Seeing as how I’m much better at typing than handwriting (I’ve been told on multiple occasions that most 2nd graders have better handwriting than me), last spring I tried typing my ‘journaled thoughts’ instead of handwriting them for a month. The whole process seemed a little bit, well, empty and impersonal. It is my hope that blogging will not be like that, but will be an outlet for thoughts, ideas, lessons, random-ness, and perhaps rants on topics that I feel strongly about.

So, if you’re reading this, there may be times where you may strongly disagree with me, or even perhaps be offended at something I write. But, Jesus, the gospel, sin, exclusivity and truth are offensive, right? That said, I intend to write how I understand things and what I believe to be correct and accurate, recognizing that there will likely come times where I will have to humbly admit that I erred and learn.



Something I don’t do nearly enough is think. Thinking through things and chewing on hard to grasp ideas or opinions. Plus, it seems that I’m much more apt to perceive things going on in my life when someone says something to me, or I’ve written out thoughts on the matter. This will likely be used partially as an outlet and an aid for such things. And as you read, I’d welcome responses with open arms.



As I type this first post, I’m kind of laughing at myself. C’mon Aaron, don’t take yourself so seriously. Blogging is a funny thing, I think. As I write this, it is me simply typing out thoughts on various topics and ideas that come to mind. I write this with no big ambitions for this and don’t know how often I’ll post, perhaps no one will really look at it, but, if you’re reading this, I invite you in to this experiment, and hope that you will grow in your knowledge of truth and wisdom, and grow in love, all the days of your life.

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog It Up, Round #1

  1. Here it is: Blog post #1 and Comment #1. Let’s keep it going. I’m excited to see what’s to come.Tell Piper and Driscoll to look out.

  2. Jessica says:

    Let the thinking out loud begin. Looking forward to seeing what comes of this. So far, so good 🙂

Leave a Reply

