Pre-Bed Proverbs

Most nights, I’m able to fall asleep as soon as I get in bed. However, since I’ve been back in Coventry, even after long days out in the cold, I’ve been restless. Regardless, I decided a few weeks ago to start randomly glancing through a few verses in Proverbs before I go to bed. Simply running it through my mind, thinking on the imagery of the verse, considering how I see it in my own life or other thoughts on it. Here are a few that have caught my eye lately, and a brief thought on them:

Proverbs 13:3 “Whoever guards his mouth preserves his life; he who opens wide his lips comes to ruin.”
When I read this verse I immediately thought of a good friend’s ‘life-giving’ rebuke to wait ten seconds before I speak. Or, as Sinclair Ferguson would say in his thick Scottish accent, “Bridle it!”

Proverbs 6:27-28 “(in reference to committing adultery) Can a man carry fire next to his chest and his clothes not be burned? Or can one walk on hot coals and his feet not be scorched?”
Picture that in your mind. Also, I think one may infer that just fire would spread to all of a man’s clothes if they caught fire, the consequences of committing adultery would spread in an uncontainable manner through all of a man’s life.

Proverbs 13:4 “The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.”
John Piper’s reference to the Word of God as ‘the kindling of Christian hedonism’ comes to mind as I read this verse.

Proverbs 12:10 “A righteous man cares for the needs of his animal…”
A verse that was used to reference William Wilberforce’s motivation for his kindness towards the welfare of animals. Also, a good reminder of this principle for a UPS worker this winter with defensive dogs to dodge…

Proverbs 18:21 “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.”

Proverbs 20:9 “Who can say, ‘I have made my heart pure; I am clean from my sin’?
Bam! An Old Testament reminder that mere religiosity based on our own efforts and not on grace through Jesus’ blood, leads to nowhere.

Proverbs 28:23 “Whoever rebukes a man will afterward find more favor than he who flatters with his tongue.”

Proverbs 9:10 “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is insight.”
As I remember one friend saying to me of this verse, ‘notice it says the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, not simply age.’

Proverbs 10:17 “Whoever heeds instruction is on the path to life, but he who rejects reproof leads others astray.”
Cue Grandpa’s Rule #4.

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Proverbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

