One life, "I Hate Packages"

No, that’s not a quote from me, that’s a quote from a UPS driver. Not one of the ‘regulars’ that I eat lunch with, but he was with us today. I kind of laugh to myself about the conversations that I’ve been a part of, and thoughts I’ve had while working for UPS this winter, as well as in the past few. And the reason I laugh to myself is because of the ‘life-lessons’ I’ve learned from talking with and being around these guys that do this job 45+ hours a week, day in, day out, for years.

So let me get to the point before I get off track. Three of us were sitting, waiting to eat lunch, and another driver that I’d met a few times before, walks in to join us. The past few weeks he had been driving semi-trucks late at night for UPS instead of delivering packages as usual. Today was his first day back to his usual role of delivering packages. I asked him if he was glad to return to normal hours and his familiar route delivering packages. His response: “I’ve been doing this job for 22 years. I hate packages.” He went on to talk about various other things with a similar view towards his job, and the time he’s spent doing it. Needless to say, it wasn’t a very positive one.

I’ve heard C.T. Studd’s quote “Only one life, twill soon be past, only what’s done for Christ will last” and that’s the basic gist of the thoughts that flooded my mind. At first, I was just thinking, ‘man, the one career that this guy has he hates. Most of his life, 30 or more years, prime years, years of wasted time, is being spent doing something he absolutes hates and abhors going to do.’

Now, I recognize that my thoughts don’t take the whole situation into account, but my first thoughts were of despair. And the idea that we have ONE life on this earth, we are given a life to be used to glorify God and to impact people’s lives, and to spend most of the time dreading what you’re doing seems unthinkable. I hate looking back on a week, or a day, or an hour, and saying to myself, “man, I really wasted it doing something so foolish, pointless, or just plain opposite of what I should’ve done or what would have been helpful to myself or others.” Let alone to have those thoughts in retrospect to 30 years of my life! To be talking about my life, or reflecting on my life 30 years from now, and saying, with tear-filled eyes of despair and remorse, “I wasted my life. I hated most of my life, and I was living for what is not worthy of my life. I poured (or worse, deadened) my heart, soul, energy, and passions for no reason.”

The rest of the shift, sitting in the truck, face being whipped by the air of a 5 degree day, I prayed a simple, yet desperate prayer: “God, protect me from wasting this ONE life that you’ve given to me, and by your grace, would you empower me that this life be pleasing to you and beneficial to others for eternity.”

May it be so.

Here’s the poem by C.T. Studd (the famous British cricket player turned missionary to China, India, and Africa) in it’s entirety:

Only One Life

Two little lines I heard one day, Traveling along life’s busy way;
Bringing conviction to my heart, And from my mind would not depart;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one, Soon will its fleeting hours be done;
Then, in ‘that day’ my Lord to meet, And stand before His Judgment seat;
Only one life,’ twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, the still small voice, Gently pleads for a better choice
Bidding me selfish aims to leave, And to God’s holy will to cleave;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, a few brief years, Each with its burdens, hopes, and fears;
Each with its clays I must fulfill, living for self or in His will;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

When this bright world would tempt me sore, When Satan would a victory score;
When self would seek to have its way, Then help me Lord with joy to say;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Give me Father, a purpose deep, In joy or sorrow Thy word to keep;
Faithful and true what e’er the strife, Pleasing Thee in my daily life;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Oh let my love with fervor burn, And from the world now let me turn;
Living for Thee, and Thee alone, Bringing Thee pleasure on Thy throne;
Only one life, “twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one, Now let me say, “Thy will be done”;
And when at last I’ll hear the call, I know I’ll say ’twas worth it all”;
Only one life,’ twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in C.T. Studd, don't waste your life, lessons, quotes, UPS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

