"You been lookin’ for that package for 3 years…"

At 5:46pm EST, an era in UPS history ended. I delivered the last package of my 3-year seasonal worker career. Most nights after getting back into the truck after carefully setting the last package of the day onto a doorstep, as I hop back into the truck, Ken (my UPS driver) says to me, “We been lookin’ for that package all day.” (this goes along with all of his other cherished sayings such as “That’s using your head”, “Brakes don’t fall me now”, “That’s all she wrote”, and countless others).

Instead, today’s line was, “Wow, you been lookin’ for that package for 4 years.”

And so, with tears in my eyes, joy in my heart, and gratitude in my soul for the memories and the opportunity to deliver approximately 25,000 packages (yes, I’m that cool that I calculated it), the “Thoroughbred Team” is officially dismantled.

Off to Grandma and Grandpa Adams’ house across town for dinner, hearing Grandpa read the Christmas story, and then off to midnight church service.

Merry Christmas Eve, and Maranatha!

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

