Back in Athens

Today was the first day of winter quarter classes here at Ohio University. Driving back to Athens this past Saturday I sensed the weight of that drive. Not that I had any profound revelation or thought, but more of a simple realization that it is highly unlikely that I will spend even close to as lengthy a time at my home/parents’ home in Akron again. I suppose I don’t that for sure, but that’s how things look as of now, as I’ll be whisked away to North Carolina a few days after graduation day, and it was simply the sense that I had as I drove. The realization was largely a simple reminder to continue embrace manhood, and to grow up and mature. I started reading through Genesis a week ago, and was reminded (albeit I’m taking it out of context) of Genesis 2:24 “Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother…”

I say this, because it seems to be another small growing up step. A week ago I was in Indianapolis, and listening to a husband and wife who had been missionaries to Uzbekistan and numerous other places, as well as in a small breakout session led by 2 guys and a girl who have served (and will be returning this year) in closed countries. Seeing this people, as human as I, sharing what God has used them to do and to see, and I was struck by how real it is. The realness of life. A brief glimpse that I’m not certain I can articulate clearly. The realness of a people going places, and ministering in ways that I strongly sense I will one day be doing as well, even though it seems so far off.

“Living a gospel-centered life, starts with living gospel-centered days.”
-C.J. Mahaney

I was missing my family a lot Saturday as I was driving back, and longing for more time to spend with them, but also longing for the friends and life I have in Athens. For some reason I had a strange anxiety this past weekend toward the first day of class, which I don’t know if I’d attribute to the Praxis exam coming up this week, or uncertainty surrounding this quarter, but thank God for grace and people in my life today to help me out. With that, I depart for the library, but leave one last thought.

Before winter break, I was shown a few verses that one man prays as he studies the Bible, theology, and really anything. So, in honor of the first day of classes, as well as the gift of studying and learning, here are three of those verses:

Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days. Psalm 90:14

Incline my heart to your testimonies, and not to selfish gain!
Psalm 119:36

Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.
Psalm 119:18

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

