Just your "typical" COMS major

For my senior communication practicum class, I had to take a few self-evaluation tests including the Keirsey Temperament Sorter, one that looks at your communication style, and one that investigates your views on conflict management. My professor sent out a summary of the class’ results. Each of my results was the one held by the majority, and in some cases vast majority, of my classmates. What that means, I don’t know. We’ve been brainwashed to think or test the same way? We all chose the answers that would make us feel best about ourselves?

My results for the Keirsey Temperament Sorter were: ESTJ. Which allegedly means:

Practical, realistic, matter-of-fact, with a natural head for business or mechanics. Not interested in subjects they see no use for, but can apply themselves when necessary. Like to organize and run activities. May make good administrators, especially if they remember to consider others’ feelings and points of view.

The results of my communication styles evaluation:

Creator: Enthusiastic, excitement driven; like public speaking
and attention; may be too talkative; persuasive and optimistic;
creative; good sense of humor; can be impulsive, make snap
decisions; have problems following through with an idea.
Advice: Slow down. Try to be less intense.

Admittedly, I somewhat breezed through each of the evaluations, answering quickly and without much hesitation (minus a few times). While I’m not so certain I would necessarily agree with all of the results, I do enjoy looking at them and seeing what these tests say I’m like as well as picking out the truths, testing the things that may not be so accurate, and learning from them. I love criticism, constructive criticism. And I love looking at things, and doing things that will give me a better understanding of strengths and weaknesses, or general tendencies in myself, as well as learning about what others are like or how they typically act or think.

Closing thoughts: reflection, growth, reality, and transformation are all good things.

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just your "typical" COMS major

  1. Jessica says:

    Advice: Slow down. Try to be less intense. That’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

