Honesty & Small Groups

Browsing through a few blogs, I came across one recommended by a friend that sounded funny: “Stuff Christians Like“. I read his post on Confessing Safe Sins and was reminded of the vitality of honesty in the Church. Living for an ‘audience of one’, and being authentic and transparent in the way you live your life is often talked about, but not often lived. Why? Because it’s difficult. And it hurts. And it makes people anxious. And people don’t look nearly as good when they open the door and let you in. Granted, I think it goes without saying that gender is something that needs to be taken into account on certain, if not many, or most, deep issues. But, what the Church really needs is Jesus. Behind that, the Church also needs is to be real.

I liked this post, and it was a good reminder for us to be people who stopped skipping around surface level, and jump on down. And for most of us, that means we need to initiate, and set the tone, and one way we can and should do that is by opening the door, and saying, “here I am. I’m a mess, but in Christ, I am being transformed everyday. And I want you to know that I’m going to be open, and real, and in essence, I give you permission to be open, and even expect you to be as well.” Here’s the excerpt I liked:

But this blog has taught me something unbelievable. If I stop writing tomorrow, this will be the lesson I cling to the most.

When you go first, you give everyone in your church or your community or your small group or your blog, the gift of going second.

It’s so much harder to be first. No one knows what’s off limits yet and you’re setting the boundaries with your words. You’re throwing yourself on the honesty grenade and taking whatever fall out that comes with it. Going second is so much easier. And the ease only grows exponentially as people continue to share. But it has to be started somewhere. Someone has to go first and I think it has to be us.

We’re called to give the gift of second to the people in our lives. To live the truth, to share the truth, to be the truth.

Let’s give the gift of going second.

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

