Meeting with Missionary to Ghana

One of the benefits of my job, is that I sometimes get to meet with some very interesting people. People with crazy experiences, or wisdom, or that simply have very interesting thoughts. Today, I met with a gentleman named Charlie. He’s a former police officer and former member of the Power Team. He and his wife also founded a small missions organization in Africa, and for the lsat 7 seven years, he, his wife and kids have been missionaries to Ghana.

As we talked, I asked him a lot of questions about his experiences so far as a missionary.

As he talked about his family and some fascinating stories, I also asked questions about things he has learned as parent and advice on raising kids. The first thing he said was that “what your kids learn is caught, not just taught. They’ve got to see mom and dad do it. My dad would tell me not to drink or smoke, but then he would sit there saying that with a cigarette in his mouth and a beer in his hand. But if you want your kids to do things
Encourage them with God’s Word. “Back in Ghana, my kids often have to lead various things. I’ll say, ‘hey, we need you to lead the young children’s Sunday school.’ And if my kid says, ‘But dad, I don’t think I can, I don’t know what to teach on.’ I point him back to the Word. What does this say? ‘I can do all things through Him who strengthens me’. Not only does your earthly father think you can do it, but you Heavenly Fathers thinks you can too. God says you can.”
It’s important to push them enough that they’re always going one step more than they think they can. Reminding them that “the joy of the Lord is our strength.”

I asked him what kind of training he’d had, or if he had any thoughts in his early adult life about doing something like this, and here’s what he said: “If we saw the end, we’d run the other way. It’s God being gracious to us that He holds out what we’re to do next like a carrot on a string in front of us. Just take another step, then another.”

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

