Penetrating Questions About "Functional saviors"

Jerry Bridges and Bob Bevington write a very fundamental, yet deep and very insightful book on the righteousness of Christ and the power of the Holy Spirit.

In discussing questions to ask in seeking God to reveal one’s functional saviors, they include these:

I am preoccupied with ____.

If only ______, then I would be happy.

I get my sense of significance from _____.

I would protect and preserve _____ at any cost.

I fear losing _____.

The thing that gives me the greatest pleasure is _____.

When I lose ______ I get angry, resentful, frustrated, anxious, or depressed.

For me, life depends on ____.

The thing I value more than anything in the world is _____.

When I daydream, my mind goes to _____.

The best thing I can think of is _____.

The thing that makes me want to get out of bed in the morning is ____.

(The Bookends of the Christian Life, Bridges and Bevington, pg. 73)

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

