Bible Memorization Resources

I came across some great Bible memorization resources that I haven’t looked at for about 2 years that I wanted to pass along. For the last few months (as well as off and on for the last few years), I’ve wanted to commit and focus on memorizing the Bible more. How many Christians wish they knew more verses of the Bible by heart?

I’ve started to simply write out a verse/passage on a sticky note, and place it on my work computer. I have a long drive to work, and have loaded my iPod with most of the New Testament as well as various chapters of the Old Testament with the goal of saturating my mind and heart with Scripture. Working on how I best memorize Scripture and what the most useful practices can be for me. I think I’ll be surprised at how the Lord will bless even small efforts.

Here are those resources:

Desiring God

John Piper: Why Memorize Scripture?

John Piper: How Do You Memorize Scripture?

John Piper: How Do You Choose What Bible Passages to Memorize?

Sally Michael: Memorizing the Word is Possible

Dr. Andrew Davis, pastor of First Baptist Church, Durham, NC

Suggestions for Memorizing Scripture

An Approach to Extended Memorization of Scripture

Here’s what Dr. Andrew Davis says about Scripture memorization:
“It is my prayer that God will raise up a generation of people who do this labor, thus presenting themselves to God as those approved, workmen who do not need to be ashamed, and who correctly handle the Word of Truth. (cf. 2 Timothy 2:15) The lost in our nation and the weak and immature churches which have so proliferated are in deep need of the meat of the Word and those qualified to give it to them. May God bless your diligence and hard work!”

James MacDonald, one of my favorite pastors/authors has a great blog post on how the Word of God is like fire, a sword, a hammer, seed, milk, meat, light, and a mirror.

I’m looking for more good resources-are there any resources, articles, books, etc. that have been helpful in your pursuit of memorizing Scripture?

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

