The Apostles’ Wives

I think that Peter and at least some of the apostles had wives. Random thought, but I thought it was interesting. Here’s why I think that:

Yesterday, as I was reading Mark 1:29-31, I realized that I had never before noticed the phrase Simon’s “mother-in-law”.

“And immediately He (Jesus) left the synagogue and entered the house of Simon and Andrew, with James and John. Now Simon’s mother-in-law lay ill with a fever, and immediately they told Him about her. And he came and took her by the hand and lifted her up, and the fever left her, and she began to serve them.”
Mark 1:29-31

I think I usually just gloss over it or read it quickly and guess it says “mother”. Simon, is the one Jesus re-names Peter, the rock. Even though Jesus says we are to love Jesus more than our husbands or wives or children, based on Ephesians 5 where husbands are commanded to love their wives as Christ loved the Church, I’m assuming that Peter didn’t leave his wife. It’s possible that she even was with Peter during the 3 years of Christ’s public ministry, following Jesus right at his side.

Here’s a passage that you may be familiar with that alludes to not only Peter, but also some of the other apostles as well, having a wife:

“This is my defense to those who would examine me. Do we not have the right to eat and drink? Do we not have the right to take along a believing wife, as do the other apostles and the brothers of the Lord and Cephas? Ir is it only Barnabas and I who have no right to refrain from working for a living?…”
1 Corinthians 9:3-6

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

