Book Review – The Treasure Principle

I recently read “The Treasure Principle” by Randy Alcorn. It’s a terrific, compact book that gives a biblical overview of money and finances. Alcorn reminds us that everything, including all of “my” money, belongs to God, I am just his steward.

Throughout the book, Alcorn expounds on 6 key principles:

#1 God owns everything. I’m His money manager.
#2 My heart always goes where I put God’s money.
#3 Heaven, not Earth, is my home.
#4 I should live not for the dot, but for the line (eternity).
#5 Giving is the only antidote to materialism.
#6 God prospers me not to raise my standard of living, but to raise my standard of giving.

This book had a profound impact on my mindset towards money and finances and stewardship. God is using it to help me have a more balanced and correct view of blessing and giving. There’s also a section with “31 questions to ask God” that will help you pray and think through your own personal view of money and your spending habits. If you’re open to praying through what Randy writes, you’ll most likely leave convicted, and recognizing more deeply that your view of money reflects your dependence on God. 

This little book is short and easy to read. The truths contained in it are invaluable, and a book that someone could easily give to friends or family. With a topic as delicate as finances, Randy does a good job of warmly exhorting by pointing to the extravagant gift God has given in Christ, which in turn should cause one to extend blessing to others, while not leaving you guilt-ridden. It’s also short enough that I plan to reference it often, and possibly even read it once every few years.

FTC Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

