Being Content With “Plenty and…Abundance”

Have you learned the secret of being content in whatever situation? Even when that means “facing plenty and…abundance?” In reading Philippians 4:11-13, and thinking of Paul speaking of contentment, I usually think about seeking to be content when things aren’t going well. I think that’s extremely important – “learning the secret of facing” tough times. Learning to be content when things are not going well, and when you feel hopeless and helpless.

But it seems that Paul points out it is also important to learn to be content when you have more than you need, when things are going well, and when you’re “coasting.” That’s the situation I find myself in as I type this – things overall seem to be going really well. There is still plenty of sin in my life that needs put to death, and areas to grow and mature in. But in many ways, I’m experiencing a season of plenty and abundance. I know this won’t always be the case, and may not be the case for long. Physical needs are taken care of, I have plenty of time that is not currently over-committed to various obligations. But I need to continue to be content and thankful to God. Even in seasons of plenty and abundance.

“Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”
Philippians 4:11-13

How do you handle the seasons in your life where things are going well? Do you trust in Christ, or trust in yourself?

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

