Francis Chan: Follow Jesus

“These words that we give without action, were never acceptable to Jesus.

When my daughter comes to me and I say, “Go clean your room.” She knows better. She’s not going to come back a couple of hours later, and say to me, “Hey dad, I memorized what you said. You said, “Go, clean your room.” What am I going to say, “Oh good job! That’s what I wanted!” No. And she’s not going to say to me, “Dad, I can say ‘Go clean your room’, in Greek. Listen.” That’s not going to fly! And she’s not going to say, “My friends and I, we’re going to gather together every week, and we’re going to study what it would look like if I went and cleaned my room.” No, none of that’s going to fly. Just go clean your room, she knows. So why do we think this kind of thinking and talk is going to work with Jesus?  

Jesus would look at people and say, “Why do you call me ‘Lord,’ and not do what I tell you to do? Why would you call me “Lord” if you’re not going to do what I tell you to do? See these words that we give without action behind it, were never acceptable to Jesus.”
(Matthew 7:21, Luke 6:14)

-Francis Chan in Basic Series: Follow Jesus
___

But let us be reminded that we can never earn our way into Heaven. We don’t need to. Jesus already earned our way into Heaven, and it is a gift, accepted through faith. We are commanded to be obedient, and told that the fruit of our works is one way that displays our faith.

“Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth.”
1 John 3:18

About Aaron Golby

Christian. Husband to Katherine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

